Word for the Year: Joy

A couple weeks before the start of the year, Micah & I were having a conversation in which he asked me if I was happy. It took me by surprise, because I don’t feel unhappy, but apparently the way I was choosing to live, the way I was responding to life made him think that I was not happy. It caused me to pause & reflect and as I did, I realized that I’m often so focused on what I need to get done or events that are weeks or months in the future, that I don’t stop & simply enjoy the moment I’m currently in, which ultimately robs me of the joy that could be found. For this reason I have chosen JOY as my word of the year! My verse is the latter part of Nehemiah 8:10 that says, “This is a sacred day before our Lord. Don’t be dejected & sad for the joy of the Lord is your strength”

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 4.35.26 PM

I’ve also chosen two ‘phrases’ to help me remember. The first is:

EnJOY this moment! 

And for when the day isn’t going how I envisioned:

I choose Joy! 

What’s your word for the year?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Word for the Year: Joy

  1. Dueck, Howard

    ‘Joy’ is my word for the year too! It ‘came’ to me unexpectedly when I was preparing a sermon that ended up being about Joy.
    Blessings – and much joy – in 2015!

Leave a Reply

