The start of H&M, part 9

November 21, 2003 — I was celebrating my first “BFA Thanksgiving,” which was a whole new experience. Because BFA was founded by Canadians and still had a large number of Canadians as students and staff, neither Canadian Thanksgiving nor American Thanksgiving was a day off from school. All the dorms got together and simply chose a day that would seem to work and declared that day “dorm thanksgiving.”

In the days and weeks before dorm thanksgiving there was lots to do in preparation: pie dough to be made, bread to be dried out for stuffing, pie fillings to be made, rolls to be made, pies to be baked. I don’t think I had ever seen so many pies come from one kitchen! The other thing that had to be done was invite all the guests that we would want at our dorm thanksgiving. Girls in the dorm invited their brothers over from their dorms and we also invited our dorm helpers. While we were sitting around as a staff talking about who would need to be invited, my dorm mom looked at me and said, “Be sure to invite Micah.” By this time there was no doubt in my mind that she was trying to fix the two of us up, so I simply agreed knowing that I would likely see him in the next couple days. When I did see him and invited him, he said, “Oh, I wish I could, but I was already invited to [the other girls dorm] by [the other RA].” I felt a little disappointed, but quickly moved on knowing I would be busy that day anyways. I reported back to my dorm mom that Micah wouldn’t be coming. I didn’t think anything more about it until a day or two before dorm thanksgiving when she suddenly said to me, “Micah’s coming to Thanksgiving here.” “But, he told me that he was going to Thanksgiving at [the other dorm],” I replied. “Oh, I just called them and told them that he was coming to Thanksgiving here!” she said matter-of-factly! And that was that!

Dorm Thanksgiving arrived & it was indeed a lot of work making food for all those people, but the meal we sat down to was so delicious! As we sang the “Doxology” with so many people, I got goosebumps and truly felt so thankful for all that God was doing in my life!¬†Dinner that night with Micah was tons of fun! Those of us at the table with him laughed and laughed! As evidenced by the picture!

I can’t even remember what prompted this, but as you can see everyone is having a great time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

