The start of H&M, part 2

August 12, 2003 – It was our second morning of New Staff Orientation, which means both Micah & I were attending these sessions & learning more about BFA. Being girls, my new friends & I had already ‘matched’ up the eligible young men into “cute couples” with some of the girls. I even suggested that Micah would make a cute couple with one particular girl, however something in the back of my mind protested against that idea! I wasn’t ready to let go of my current crush, but there was also something about Micah that I couldn’t let go of either!

That day during new staff orientation the personnel director came up to us Resident Assistants & suggested that we invite all the single teachers, both male & female, over to the dorm for dinner & games. We were fairly non-committal being that we were new & not really in charge of cooking our meals. However, at the end of the session, the personnel director announced, “All singles teachers are invited to dinner at the dorm with the RAs.” Hmm…okay, I guess we’re having the single teachers over tonight!

That evening, Micah showed up wearing an Oregon State Beavers hat, which I found strange since he was from Maryland. I started asking questions & found out that he had been born & lived until he was 6 in a small town in Oregon about 30 minutes from where I lived. Coincidentally, his small town was where the company for my summer job of that summer along with the previous 2 summers was based! So, I knew the area quite well! After a little more talking, we discovered that our families had good friends in common!

That was the night we played Sequence. I’d never played the game before, but it was an interesting game made even more interesting by the fact that Micah was also playing. Some friends who were there that night told me after we were dating that they knew that night that Micah & I were going to end up together, but at that point Micah & I were still oblivious to that fact!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

