Just alike

I’m almost afraid to admit it: I listen to country music. Okay, not only do I listen to it, I like country music. So the other day when I came home & saw this scene a song popped into my head. The song is by Rodney Atkins & is called “Watching You”. I’ve just put my  favorite portion of the song below.

Turnin’ on my son’s Scooby-Doo nightlight.
He crawled out of bed and he got down on his knees.
He closed his little eyes, folded his little hands
Spoke to God like he was talkin’ to a friend.
And I said, “Son, now where’d you learn to pray like that?”

Chorus:
He said, “I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo, I want to be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
We like fixin’ things and holding momma’s hand
Yeah, we’re just alike, hey, ain’t we dad?
I want to do everything you do; so I’ve been watching you”

It’s so frightening (& also a good reminder to pray for wisdom & grace) to remember how much our children learn from us even when we don’t think they are watching!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Just alike

  1. Your Oregon relatives listen to it, too :-). Love that song and love this post!

Leave a Reply

