Earthquake, hurricane, & hospital

On Tuesday, I got to experience the biggest & longest earthquake of my life (It registered as a 5.8). Since I had felt a couple of short earthquakes in Germany, when this one started, I knew right away what it was & wasn’t too worried. Then the intensity picked up & things started to fall & break and I suddenly realized, “Um, this just got a bit worse than I’ve ever felt. What’s to keep it from getting even worse?” At that point, I started to feel a bit scared & ran for the nearest doorway (because that is what you are supposed to do, right?). Unfortunately, the nearest doorway was the door to the porch, which is also closest to all the big trees on my in-laws property. My mom-in-law was the clear thinking one & told me to not stand in that doorway & went & picked up Ezra in case it got any worse. Thankfully, it ended soon after that, but my heart was definitely racing!

On Friday, I got to visit the hospital…again. I had been feeling crampy most of the day & finally decided to call my midwives. They wanted me to come in for observations, so I did. They hooked me up to the monitors & sure enough, I was having contractions. I ended up staying overnight & having 2 sonograms. I now have pills to take that will stop contractions (Indocin for you medical people). The only thing that is hard for me is to know when it is cramps causing contractions OR cramps caused by everything growing & stretching. I definitely would appreciate prayers for wisdom in this regard!

Saturday night, Hurricane Irene came through our area. We had a lot of rain, a lot of wind, & the power went off around 1 AM and stayed off for about 24 hours, but other than that we stayed warm, dry, & safe. The neighbors across the way did have a tree fall on their house so we are thanking God for keeping the house safe! AND, we have power already, which sounds like we are in the minority, so we thank God for that as well!

It was not a boring week for us at this house!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Earthquake, hurricane, & hospital

  1. Leigh

    Wow. Will be praying. Can you send me a private message with your number… would love to chat one day soon. πŸ™‚

  2. Chrissy

    Of course you have power already, you’re ar the Powers house. The electric company likes you πŸ™‚ ( sorry couldn’t resist) Thanks for the update

Leave a Reply

