The Great American Road Trip, Days 3, 4, & 5

You can tell we are getting further into our trip, because the number of pictures seems to have decreased. OR maybe it was because after sitting in the car for hundreds of miles, your brain begins to grow numb. I’m not sure, but there were decidedly less pictures for these next couple days!

 

Day 3: Salt Lake City, UT – Colorado Spring, CO (600 miles)

 

Hello Wyoming!

 

It looks like the Badlands, but it isn’t. Just beautiful landscape in Wyoming!

 

Another common sight in the backseat (this DVD player was a life-saver!)

 

Wyoming was really beautiful!

 

After spending the majority of the day driving in Wyoming, we were happy to enter Colorado as it meant we were nearing the end of our longest day!

 

I now understand why so many people LOVE Colorado – it is BEAUTIFUL!!!

 

We ended our night in Colorado Springs at Micah’s cousins’ house. I had never met these cousins before so I was excited to meet more of Micah’s extended family.

 

Day 4: Colorado Springs – Denver – Colorado Springs (140 miles)

Today was all about seeing people! We started the day at Red Rocks Amphitheater where we met up with Micah’s friend, Micahel and his wife & daughter. It was great catching up with them. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of Micah with his friends!

Red Rocks was amazing. I can only imagine how fun it would be to go to a concert here.

 

I guess we wore Ezra out! (And yes, the mom in me is cringing!)

 

Next up was lunch with one of my best friends from high school, Leslie & her husband, Nate. I hadn’t seen her since right after Ezra was born, so it was great to catch up with them!

 

Afterwards, it was back to Colorado Springs for dinner with Micah’s family. Like I said, I had never met them & as we had gotten in rather late the night before, we finally got to sit down & visit with them. It was great fun!

 

Day 5: Colorado Springs, CO – Eustis, NE (375 miles)

We started the day by stopping off briefly at the ACSI headquarters so Micah could see his former boss & friend, Tim.

From there we drove & drove & drove. We really didn’t make any interesting stops except for gas, food, & bathroom. Can you tell?

 

That night we got to Nebraska! This is where my family hails from, well at least my Dad’s dad’s side of the family. It might sound funny, but I feel like I can tell that the farmlands of Nebraska are in my blood. I just feel ‘at home’ there.

 

We stayed with relatives of mine. It had been 8 years since I had been through Nebraska & seen them so it was fun to catch up with them.

 

Ezra especially loved farm life!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Great American Road Trip, Days 3, 4, & 5

  1. chrissy

    Ok, now I can see why we didn’t get to be on your list while you were in CO. You had a busy day here. I am glad that you got to experience beautiful colorado sunset! But PLEASE if you ever come nearby us again, let us know, we would love to see you!

    On another note: I can’t believe how well Ezra is doing on the trip. Other than hugging the ground at red rocks, he looks like he is a happy traveler…. it makes me wonder,.. are you hiding the grumpy pictures? AND I think you are an amazing trooper too! I hated traveling while pregnant, but you look like it’s a piece of cake. It sounds like you are “home” now.

  2. micahandheather

    Chrissy – we had thought about seeing you guys, but once we realized how many people we had to fit into our short time in CO, we figured we would just hope to see you next summer/fall in Kandern when we pass through to pick up our stuff!

    Ezra was an incredible traveler. He had his moments, but he probably did well for about 20 – 22 hours of each day, maybe even more. We are very blessed to have a child that travels well. It wasn’t fun traveling pregnant, but better now than in the 1st trimester with morning sickness or in the 3rd trimester when you are HUGE! We are “home” now, although we are looking for a place to live as our previous housing arrangements fell through. Thankfully, we have very generous family!

Leave a Reply

