My new favorite

In trying to be more healthy, I’ve been trying to eat salads for lunch. Everyone knows that what you put on your lettuce can make a salad a lot less healthy, so I’m trying to stick to veggies & some form of protein and a healthier dressing (as opposed to a creamy dressing). Well, I’ve found a new favorite salad dressing! It actually makes me look forward to my salad at lunch time. It’s salty, sweet, & spicy all at once. I found it in my Better Homes & Garden cookbook & modified it a bit to make it a litter easier for this busy mom. If you want to see the original recipe it is Thai Chicken and Nectarine Salad. I just do lettuce, whatever veggies I have on hand, & some protein, but I’m sure this original recipe would be good as well. Anyways, here is my modified version of the dressing:

1/4 cup chicken broth

3 Tablespoons soy sauce

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 Tablespoon olive oil

2 teaspoons sesame oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

3/4 teaspoon ginger

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

 

I know there is still a lot of oil in this salad & a lot of salt, so it isn’t the healthiest dressing, but I’m sure it comes out ahead of Ranch. Also, you can really change up the taste by altering the ingredients. A little more sesame oil or garlic powder or ginger or whatever changes the taste!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My new favorite

  1. Ooh, I’ve just been thinking about how I can’t take salad dressings back with me and really need to find some more good homemade ones! Did you have to bring over the crushed red pepper? I haven’t found it there.

  2. micahandheather

    Susan – I have something called “Chili-flocken” which I found somewhere. Maybe at one of the bigger stores in one of the bigger towns.

Leave a Reply

