Disappointment

The Beavers lost terribly to the Ducks yesterday, the final score was 65-38. So, this means we will not be going home for the holidays. I didn’t realize how much I was hoping to go home until Micah told me this morning that the Beavers had lost. Going to the Rose Bowl to see the Beavers play was going to be icing on the cake, but what I was really looking forward to was clam chowder on Christmas Eve with my Dad’s family, Christmas morning with my parents & brothers which always includes one of my dad’s heart-stopping breakfasts (eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, & toast), and Christmas afternoon with my Mom’s family. I was excited about being with my family as they opened the gifts I had chosen for them, sitting around the tree with all the ornaments that I grew up with, and of course, listening to the Evie christmas record on the record player. I think I’m getting sentimental in my ‘old’ age & I’m beginning  to realize that the saying “Some things never change” is definitely not true about family. Sure, my family still has the same traditions they’ve always had, I’m just not there to experience them anymore. However, the day is coming when one or both of my brothers will meet the right girl & then who knows what Christmas will look like at that point? 

If I put all my sentimentality aside for a moment or two I can see that there are some positives to staying in Germany for Christmas:

A) It will be less stress on me during an already stressful time of year (we have Micah’s birthday, our anniversary, plus Christmas all within a week, plus basketball, elementary drama, small group christmas party, German mid-term, etc.)

B) It will mean more alone ‘down’ time for Micah & I, which we will need as we will be heading into basketball season/me directing the middle school play once school starts back up.

C) Also, we will have more time to spend with our old small group ‘kids’ that are returning (10 of our 16 will be back). It will be great to catch up on what has been going on in their lives in the past few months. I’m thinking that many of them will remain in the States this summer & get jobs so this may be our only chance to see these ‘kids’ for about a year.

Even though there are these aspects to it, it doesn’t change the fact that I’m ready for a Christmas at home.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Disappointment

  1. Amy

    I’m SO SORRY!!!! I was disappointed too–completely because of your situation. I’m praying God will give you an extra special month, so you’ll be able to see His plan through the disappointment! Love you!

  2. Oh that is a big disappointment! I am sorry that you won’t get to see your family and the rose bowl. I hope this break still goes well for you though. It will be nice to see you both around.

Leave a Reply

